20th International Conference on Principles of Knowledge Representation and Reasoning, KR 2023 September 2-8, 2023, Rhodes, Greece

Prizes & Awards

Best Paper Prizes

The following papers received the best paper awards of KR 2023:

• Ray Reiter Best Paper Award: “Streamlining Input/Output Logics with Sequent Calculi” by

Agata Ciabattoni and Dmitry Rozplokhas

• Marco Cadoli Best Student Paper Award: “Knowledge Compilation and more with SharpSAT-TD” by

Rafael Kiesel and Thomas Eiter

The award winners were selected from nominations made by area chairs and PC members by this year’s award committee, consisting of Jim Delgrande, Jérôme Lang, and Mary-Anne Williams; we thank them all for contributing their time and expertise to this special task.


The tradition of Test of Time awards, initiated at KR 2020, is continued at KR 2023. The Test of Time award is for a paper published at least 15 years ago (counting from 2023) which has stood the test of time. This year the award goes to:

Judea Pearl and Thomas S. Verma

for their KR 1991 paper “A Theory of Inferred Causation”.

For the second time, KR 2023 also awarded the KR Early Career Award. Researchers eligible for this award need to have completed their doctoral degree in 2021 or 2022. This year the award goes to:

Munyque Mittelmann

for her work on strategic reasoning and its application to automated mechanism design.

We are very grateful to our award committee—Meghyn Bienvenu, Jim Delgrande, and Tommie Meyer—for contributing their time, expertise, and effort in selecting the winners.