[PlanetKR] Winners of the VCLA International Student Awards 2018

Mihaela Rozman mihaela.rozman at tuwien.ac.at
Sat Jun 23 04:50:32 EST 2018

The VCLA International Student Awards Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of the VCLA International Student Awards 2018: http://www.vcla.at/2018/05/third-edition-of-the-vcla-international-student-awards-2018/ 

The VCLA International Students Awards acknowledge works which ask innovative questions and meet the highest academic standards for scientific research in the field of Logic and Computer Science.

The highly successful third edition of the VCLA International Student Awards was concluded on June 11, 2018. Out of 33 submissions in total, one was selected for the Outstanding Master Thesis Award and one for the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award by a committee consisting of 17 internationally recognized researchers. The award ceremony will take place on July 14, at FLoC Olympic Games.

Outstanding Master Thesis Award: Jeremy Liang An Kong (Imperial College London, United Kingdom) for his thesis “MCMAS-Dynamic: Symbolic Model Checking Linear Dynamic Logic” under the supervision of Professor Alessio Lomuscio (Imperial College London, United Kingdom).

Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis Award: Tomáš Lamser (Masaryk University in Brno, Czech Republic) for his thesis “Algorithmic Analysis of Patrolling Games” under the supervision of Professor Antonín Kučera (Masaryk University in Brno, Czech Republic).


+The Outstanding Master Thesis Award is accompanied by a prize of € 1200.
+The Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis Award is accompanied by a prize of € 800.
+The winners have been invited to the award ceremony, which is going to take place on July 14, opening the Federated Logic Conference (FLoC) 2018 Olympic Games Ceremony in Oxford.
+The winner shall have the opportunity to present their theses to the FLoC audience in person or in a digital format.

VCLA International Student Award Committee 2018

The award committee is dedicating the VCLA International Student Awards to the memory of Helmut Veith, the brilliant computer scientist who tragically passed away in March 2016, and aims to carry on his  commitment to promoting young talent and promising researchers in these areas. 
Federico Aschieri
Paolo Baldi
Ezio Bartocci
Johannes Fichte
Ekaterina Fokina
Robert Ganian (committee co-chair)
Yazmin A. Ibanez-Garcia
Roman Kuznets
Bjoern Lellmann
Nysret Musliu
Michael Morak
Martin Nöllenburg
Sebastian Ordyniak
Magdalena Ortiz (general chair)
Revantha Ramanayake (committee co-chair)
Martin Suda
Friedrich Slivovsky

The VCLA Award Committee would like to thank you once again for spreading the information among your peers, and students alike. 

It would be our pleasure, if we could anticipate to receive your nomination/s for the annually awarded VCLA Awards also in the years to come. 

Vienna Center for Logic and Algorithms
Technische Universität Wien - TU Wien
Favoritenstraße 9-11, 1040 Wien
Telefon: +43 1 58801 184806

Web: www.vcla.at/
Facebook: bit.ly/FBVCLA
Twitter: @vclaTUwien

More information about the PlanetKR mailing list