[PlanetKR] CFP AMW 2010 Foundations of Data Management

Leopoldo Bertossi bertossi at scs.carleton.ca
Fri Dec 25 07:10:24 EST 2009


May 17--20, 2010, Buenos Aires, Argentina


The "IV Alberto Mendelzon International Workshop on Foundations of Data
Management" (AMW 2010) will be held at the Faculty of Engeneering of the 
University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina, between May 17-20, 
2010. This will be the second open version of the workshop, of which 
there were three previous versions before, in Laguna San Rafael, 
Chile, November 2006 (http://grupoweb.upf.es/bd-web/), Punta del Este, Uruguay, 
November 2007 (http://www.fing.edu.uy/inco/grupos/csi/AMW07/), and 
Arequipa, Peru, May 2009 (http://db.cs.ualberta.ca/amw09/).

This is an initiative of the Latin American community of researchers in 
data management, to which our friend, colleague and mentor Alberto so 
greatly contributed. In this way we expect to create a periodical Latin 
America-based venue for high level research in the fundamental aspects of 
the area. This is a way to honor the memory of Alberto, and to increment 
and solidify the research in the region. This event, as the previous ones, 
encourages the participation of Latin American graduate students and 
develops some activities specially designed for them.

We have chosen a very interesting and attractive location: Buenos Aires 
is the beautiful, cosmopolitan capital of Argentina and offers many 
touristic attractions. But more importantly, we want to offer an exciting
  scientific atmosphere, and receive high level research contributions.

We solicit original submissions on foundational aspects of the following 
topics (among possibly others) of data management: algorithms, complexity, 
computational model theory, concurrency, constraints, data exchange, 
data integration, data mining, data modeling, data management on the Web, 
data streams, data warehouses, distributed databases, information retrieval, 
knowledge bases, logic, multimedia, physical design, privacy, quantitative 
approaches, query languages, query optimization, real-time data, recovery,
scientific data, security, semi-structured data, spatial data, temporal data,
  transactions, updates, views, workflows, and XML.

Paper submissions must be in electronic form using Portable Document Format 
(.pdf).  Papers should be formatted according to the Springer LaTeX2e style 
llncs for Lecture Notes in Computer Science, which is available at 
http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html. The length should not 
exceed 12 pages. Papers longer than 12 pages risk rejection without 
consideration of their merits. Submissions should be made through the EasyChair system at http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=amw2010. 
The AMW 2010 proceedings will be published as part of the CEUR proceedings 
series and indexed by DBLP.

Important Dates:

Paper submission: February 15, 2010 
Notification: March 19, 2010
Workshop starts: May 17, 2010

The submissions will be judged for scientific quality and relevance. At least 
one author of each accepted paper must attend the workshop to present the work. 
The submission process will be through the Web only.

Program Chairs:

Alberto H.F. Laender 
Computer Science Department
Federal Un. of Minas Gerais, 
laender at dcc dot ufmg dot br

Laks V.S. Lakshmanan
Department of Computer Science
The University of British Columbia, Canada
laks at cs dot ubc dot ca

Program Committee:

Juan Ale (UBA, Argentina)
Marcelo Arenas (PUC-Chile, Chile)
Sihem Amer-Yahia (Yahoo!, USA)
Ricardo Baeza-Yates (Yahoo!, Spain)
Pablo Barcelo (Un. Chile, Chile)
Michael Benedikt (Un. Oxford, UK)
Leo Bertossi (Carleton Un., Canada)
Francesco Bonchi (Yahoo!, Spain)
Angela Bonifati (ICAR-CNR, Italy)
Andrea Cali (Oxford Un., UK)
Marco Casanova (PUC-Rio, Brazil)
Mariano Consens (Un. Toronto, Canada)
Isabel Cruz (Un. Illinois, USA)
Umeshwar Dayal (HP Labs, USA)
Christos Faloutsos (CMU, USA)
Jiawei Han (Un. Illinois, USA)
Carlos Heuser (UFRGS, Brazil)
Solmaz Kolahi (UBC, Canada)
Nick Koudas (Un. Toronto, Canada)
Dongwon Lee (Penn State Un., USA)
Claudia Medeiros (Unicamp, Brazil)
Renee Miller (Un. Toronto, Canada)
Mirella M. Moro (UFMG, Brazil)
Regina Motz (Un. de la Republica, Uruguay) 
Frank Neven (Un. Hasselt, Belgium)
Rachel Pottinger (UBC, Canada)
Sunil Prabhakar (Purdue Un., USA) 
Divesh Srivastava (AT&T Labs-Research, USA)
Dan Suciu (Un. Washington, USA)
S. Sudarshan (IITB, India) 
David Toman (Un. Waterloo, Canada)
Alejandro Vaisman (UBA, Argentina)
Victor Vianu (UCSD, USA)

More information about the PlanetKR mailing list